When Music Attacks! 06 + 07

Courtney Barnnett || Su 6/14 @ 9:30 Club

Doors 7:00 / $20 / Get Tickets Here

The first night sold out but there is a second show now and it goes on sale tomorrow. I will be purchasing at least one ticket. Who wants to go? A friend told me about Courtney Barnett about six months ago, saying something like She’s the best thing to happen to raw and defiant sing-talk-rock-guitar-driven rock in several years. She’s effortless as fuck.”  Okay, he didn’t say that; I’m saying that, but it’s true

I didn’t fall in love the first time I listened to the album “Sometimes I Sit and Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit.” But what we have now is real and special. She’s Australian and you can hear her accent.

Pedestrian At Best

“Put me on a pedestal I’ll only disappoint you. / Tell me I’m exceptional, I’ll only disappoint you. / … I think you’re a joke but I don’t find you very funny.”

NPR recorded her SXSW performance so you know it’s true love for Bob Boilen and Robin Hilton. http://www.npr.org/event/music/394032983/courtney-barnett-live-in-concert-sxsw-2015 

Neko Case  || M 6/15 @ Lincoln Theater

$45 / Tickets here

I don’t need to say anything about Neko Case except SHE’S FUCKING AMAZING RECORDED AND LIVE. I’ve seen her at this venue twice now and she is awesome. Here is her Tiny Desk Conert from 2013 with Kelly Hogan, and yes that is Eric Bachmann.  “Man” performed at Austin City Limits.

Best Coast || 6/16 @ 930 Club 

tickets here 

Boyfriend

I Don’t Know How

Shamir Bailey || Tu 6/16 @ U Street Music Hall

Doors 7:00 / $15 / Get your Ticket!

Avi introduced me to Shamir Bailey a few months ago and it took me a few listens before I realized how special his voice is, and what he is going to be offering his fans with singular vocals and authenticity.

Fall in love with Shamir the person: http://www.npr.org/2015/03/21/394343083/wear-your-imperfections-on-your-sleeve-a-moment-with-shamir

Fall in love with Shamir the musician. His heart wrenching cover of “Stripes” fucked my shit up. Give it a listen.  I’ll Never Be Able to Love” is very heart on sleeve and sadly pained for a 19 year old.

On the Regular” is the other end of his emotional range and if he’s going to shift to dance-able feels, then I’m still IN.

“Yes, yes I’m the best fuck, what ya heard, anything less is obviously absurd.”

Caroline Rose || 6/25 @ IOTA 

tickets here

America Religious

Tightrope Walker

I Will Not Be Afraid 

Archers of Loaf || 07/09 @ Black Cat