Iceland Magic Carefolo

We said “where are we” as if we didn’t already know.

We said “how” like an expletive with no question.

We said “seal it in” and we were talking about a smell but also a feeling.

The hillside with lichens and stone.

The ice cutting tracks where no walls should go.

The valleys low enough to keep us out of sight.

Watch out, watch out, I’m about to be overtaken.

Watch out, watch out, close my eyes against the sound.

Watch out, watch out, close my ears against the sound.

Watch out, watch out, I’m about to lose myself in the memory of where I came from and the person I was never with.

We said “I could climb that” like a question and “how far is that water” like a dare.

As a pack we could take the seaside and valley and cliff.

As a pack we could get lost in the sound.

Alone we could do nothing but close our eyes against the sound.

Alone we could not see past the hillsides and ice and valleys.

We said “where are we” like we were lost.

We said “how” like a prayer.

