Cover Me in Covers

There have been some really spectacular covers in the last few months, and since most of them came out in August, now seems an appropriate time to collect and share them.

HAIM, “Strong Enough” – original by Sheryl Crow

My favorite all-women band (they’re spunky, smart, satorially and musically gifted sisters from California) released a cover of Sheryl Crow’s “Strong Enough” on Triple J‘s Like A Version. This song meant a lot to me when I was 17 and I love it again and harder now that HAIM have put their fingerprints on it. I think this song was meant to be played on a Gibson SG.

Bastille, “We Can’t Stop” – original by Miley Cyrus

This is the best cover I’ve heard on this song, perhaps largely due to the injection of “Achy Breaky Heart.”  I enjoy the syllabic and phrasing emphasis the singer applies. It might help that they are super  British.

Pentatonix, “Can’t Stop Us” – original  by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Speaking of “Can’t Stop” … I love this a cappella group above all others.  On this cover I am particularly obsessed with Avi’s low end. They do a lot of wicked covers, most notably Florence and Machine’s “Dog Days Are Over” on the Sing Off in 2011.

While we’re on the topic of this phrase “Can’t Stop…”

Can we all agree that the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ used it best in? K’thanks!  It also happens to be one of their best music videos. Fuck I miss John. And those lamps.

Tears for Fears, “Ready to Start” – Original by The Arcade Fire

Tears for Fears dominate this Arcade Fire track. I feel like Sophia Coppola would have used this cover on the Marie Antoinette soundtrack if it’d been in the atmosphere in 2006.

And even though Solange covered “Stillness is the Move” by the Dirty Projectors in 2009, I’m only just coming to it now and am including it in the party.

