From One Note Taker to Another

Many of us have a finely honed or default mode of note taking and managing life tasks that suit us just fine or even serve as an efficiency-enabling art form. Congratulations to you! You take the time to reflect on or capture daily life as it zooms by. That’s wonderful. But here is another method to consider.

Yesterday’s Fast Co.Exist article titled This Note-Taking System Turns You Into An Efficiency Expert introduces us to Ryder Carrol’s finely honed practice. It resonates for me. Big time. I have been using an ad hoc system of task mgmt very similar to this for years, but I am elevating Bullet Journal <http://bulletjournal.com/&gt; as a best practice for three main features:

the index liberates us from linear patterns and progressions

the migrated signifier to take with us actions we did not complete in the previous week/month. See also: migration

page numbers for quick-look up and complementing the index.

I am a fan of Collections. My passion for lists and vacation field notebooks is not because I can’t keep my life on course without them (despite what my mother may tell you), it is because I love the curatorial aspect of these things.

I greatly enjoy conversation mapping; it is well suited to the meetings and incubators I frequently facilitate and participate in as part of my job. It is a powerful tool for capturing ideas and reflecting a conversation and decisions to a group (or to yourself), but it is not as well suited for supporting life management tasks.

graphically recording a conversation about an event on building resilient communities. Formed the basis of our agenda and facilitator's prep packet.

graphically recording a conversation about an event on building resilient communities. Formed the basis of our agenda and facilitator’s prep packet.

My brain is lit up with the possibilities for greatness enabled by Bullet Journal! It is one tool among many available to the note takers, chroniclers, curators and self-organizers of the world. I think it’s pretty neat and am going to start using it and see if and how it helps me.

