Love Badges

On February 9, 2012 I received a Valentine’s Day inspired email from Dimples.

Is that a mirror in your pocket? Cause I can see myself in your pants. 

Two minutes later, a second message:

If I asked you to have sex with me, would your answer be the same as your answer to this question? 

(think about it. it’s hilarious)
5 email exchanges later I created my first set of Love Badges using Microsoft PowerPoint and the power of Google’s image search. I had actual work to do but somehow this seemed significantly more important. After a few prototypes to get the sizing right, I cut each one out and glued it to a hello-my-name-is sticker.
That night after our Bocce game at McFadden’s, everyone’s (least) favorite Georgetown bar, our team donned the badges and gave them out to fellow DC Bocce League members who were eyeing our chests or rolled a particularly lovely frame.

Two nights later at a DC house party, the evening of a freak snow fall and the death of Whitney Houston, the Love Badges made their debut. Imagine my joy upon arriving at the party just before midnight (I was having my face rocked off by Sharon Van Etten at the Black Cat), after a near fish-tail-on-snow collision, and opening the door to a house packed full of people sloppily belting out “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” while wearing my hand-made Love Badges. I was greeted warmly by friends and equally warmly by strangers to whom I was introduced as “This is [RBot], she made the Love Badges.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I realize it is the day after Valentine’s Day and that you cannot immediately utilize these little gems, but consider parading them out at your next house party along with some blank Avery Easy Peel Labels and black Sharpies so that people can add their own pick-up lines. They will be a hit.
