Things I Want To Eat in Johannesburg

One of the  best values in Johannesburg is the cost of food and drink.  I’ve known this for a while judging by the grocery stores, but it wasn’t until my recent outing with my work friends (the Youth League) that I realized this is the case in restaurants as well.

the leopard

Case Study 1: After a failed attempt to check out Yo Grapes at Wolves Cafe’s Howl (apparently the new/popular/hip bars in Joburg require “reservations” in order to sit and drink), we went to Doppio Zero in Rosebank. At this “Italian themed” restaurant I ordered a tanqueray mojito for the equivalent of USD4 (the regular price, not a drink special).

Case Study 2: Melanie, John and I had three entrees and a bottle of wine at The Leopard in Parkhurst for a song. And we sat for ages. I had the best parmesan zucchini penne of my life. Also, I want their tables in my future home.

Now that I fully grasp the purchasing power of USD to ZAR for food and drink, I have a list of restaurants I am dying to go to and things I want to eat.

2012-12-02 13.12.54

  1. Consume many cocktails at Kitchner’s Carvery Bar in Braamfontein (5 De Beer Street)
  2. Eat weird pizza at Trabella in Illovo
  3. Drink beer  on a sunny roof at the 12 Decades Hotel’s Sundays in the City
  4. Eat Chinese food at Swallows Inn, the oldest surviving Chinese restaurant in Johannesburg, founded in 1940 (6 Commissioner Street, Johannesburg).
  5. Sip coffee from Cramers Coffee, lauded as the best cup of joe in Jozi.
  6. Savor an “All Day Breakfast” dish from Eat Your Heart Out on the corner of Fox and Kruger Streets in the Maboneng Precinct.
  7. Walk across the street and enjoy a milkshake from Uncle Merv’s
