The Art of Reading Like Rory Gilmore

I am a huge fan of Gilmore Girls. I love fast taking independent women. I love fictional towns like Stars Hallow with crazy annual events each month involving elaborate customs, absurd historical events and hi-jinks.  I love that each character is a quirky exaggeration. I love that there are no good shops in a 30 mile radius and yet all the young folk look stylish and properly attired.  In fact, I love Hart of Dixie’s town of Blue Bell for all these reasons. Rachel Bilson doesn’t talk as fast as Lauren Graham, but she what she lacks in land-speed talking records, she makes up for with booties, blazers, huge eyes and ridiculously attractive love interests who often go shirtless.

But I digress.

One of the things I love most about Gilmore Girls is that it introduced me to endless books, authors and films. For anyone who owns the entire collection of DVDs like I do, you know there are “liner notes” for each episode’s pop culture references. What there is not, is a list of all the books Rory Gilmore is seen reading or references. But thanks to this website, now I have a handy reading list of her favorite literature. The Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge is an amazing reference guide and is going to figure strongly in my New Year Resolutions (NYRs) for 2013.

Ready. Set. Read.

rory gilmore smell it

