I am Thankful for Stop Animation

Today is Thanksgiving, and I am in South Africa and thusly far away from my family, pumpkin pie, home-made vegetarian stuffing, brussels sprouts.  I shared a wonderful lunch at Woolworths with my colleague Suan, a fellow American from Fargo (for real). I ate many potatoes and some beets and peas and more potatoes and mac and cheese and more potatoes and carrot juice with ginger and then some more potatoes. All while outside in the shade soaking up the 85 degree weather.

My point is this: even though I am far away from those nearest and dearest, I can still eat some Thanksgiving themed food and reflect on what I am thankful for. That list would be epic, therefore let me express my thanks for something I don’t think about that often: Stop Animation.

I love Stop Animation.  I’m not going to get into why, because I’ve never thought about it. I just do, damn it. I should also add that I am thankful to NPR All Songs Considered music program and blog, because that’s how this music video, shot by Sean Arden, for The Zolas song “Knot In My Heart” came into my life.

What you see isn’t digital trickery. The band, along with director Sean Arden and animator Nathan Gilliss, shot the entire video frame by frame. Since all of the live-actor scenes were shot at night, each frame required longer exposures, and the band members had to remain insanely still.

Insane is a great word for it. This is insanely awesome.  In my mind, this is how I move. This is how everyone [I like] moves.  I’m not going to get into adjectives or explaining how this video makes me feel, other to say that it makes me Thankful for Stop Animation.

